About the Coptic Church

The Coptic Orthodox Church of Alexandria, is an apostolic Church belonging to the denomination of the “Oriental Orthodox Church”. This denomination consists of six different churches.

It is based in Egypt and was established by St Mark the Evangelist during the middle of the 1st century (AD 42).

The Church is headed by a Pope and Synod of Bishops. The current Pope is His Holiness Pope Tawadros II who is the 118th Patriarch by apostolic succession, with St Mark the Evangelist being the first Pope.